Ramblings of an IT Consultant

The problem with browsers

In Microsoft on November 1, 2010 at 6:26 pm

Today I have had a very frustrating day.  As a web developer I am responsible for making sure that a website will display correctly in all current and some historic browsers.

If you are sitting there and wondering what the big fuss is about, I can tell you it’s no simple task.  I usually test using Firefox, Safari and Internet Explorer.  However one of these browsers always gives me grief.  If you was thinking anything other than Microsoft’s Internet Explorer you would be very mistaken.

You see Firefox and Safari adhere to all of the rules, they just don’t tolerate sloppy website code.  Internet Explorer is the opposite and seems to thrive on bad web development.  Imagine my surprise today when I had to find a workaround to make one of Microsoft’s own browser components.  Shockingly it would not work in Internet Explorer 8 and 9, but would in both Firefox and Safari.  Now I know version 9 is a beta release but you would  think even as a beta, it would be better than version 8.  If only this was the case!

Lets hope Microsoft’s upcoming release of IE9 Is a big improvement!

  1. Hilarious!

    Of course, if IE’s user share keeps falling, MS will eventually have to adapt to the standards and the developers, instead of the other way around.

    • Thank you for your commet!

      Well it would be nice to MS to stand up and be counted for a change! I see you have ditched opera also. I dont even bother testing with Google Chrome because that has some large security issues at the moment.

  2. So would you say Safari and Firefox are the best of the bunch? I’m just a regular internet user you see, I don’t understand the programming aspect of it, but it would be nice to know which ones are better for the internet user. My web browser tried to MAKE me install Google chrome when it first came out. I didn’t like that at all.

    • Well I must admit I don’t like the Google chrome option but then that’s personal taste. I have recently been using a mixture of safari and Firefox and I like them both. They are both fast but for me I think I prefer Firefox. Don’t get me wrong I also like internet explorer it’s just the security threats and the developing issues I struggle with!

Leave a Reply

